

CBAI Urges IDFPR to Re-Work State CRA Rules

The purpose of administrative rulemaking is to flesh out the details necessary to implement a newly passed law. In the case of the new state CRA, CBAI believes that IDFPR has far exceeded its rulemaking authority by including provisions that are not in the law, including using race as a factor, environmental safety and governance (ESG), and small business data collection. We are also disappointed that IDFPR chose to ignore our repeated calls to draft rules that minimize unnecessary regulatory and financial impacts on state-chartered banks. CBAI is asking the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules (JCAR), a legislative body that oversees rulemaking, to reject the Department process over.

Earlier this week, CBAI met with the acting director of the Division of Banking, along with IDFPR and JCAR staff. We provided a **document** that served as the baseline for the discussion. It is simply the language of the new law and descriptions of why we believe the law supports various proposals CBAI has been advocating for more than two years. They include incorporating federal rules by reference so there is one consistent standard, using a kdeemerĹ clause so a bank that has a passing rating on a federal CRA exam would be exempt from state examination, and calling for the use of joint exams when necessary. We also believe the law gives IDFPR clear authority to prohibit the sale of assets of a financial institution covered by CRA to another financial institution not covered by CRA. This would prohibit national or foreign chartered credit unions from buying banks in Illinois.

CBAI continues to meet with the 12 legislators who serve on JCAR and asks them to reject the proposed final rule for banking. The next JCAR meeting will be on November 7 in Springfield. The proposed rules are on the agenda. JCAR may take them up or may choose to delay consideration until a future meeting. JCAR only allows department staff to testify at their hearings. It is imperative that we convey our position to legislators in advance. If you have a relationship with a legislator who serves on JCAR, we urge you to reach out and ask them to reject the proposed rule.

Sen. Bill Cunningham Co-Chair (D) Email: <u>cunningham@senatedem.illinois.gov</u>

Springfield Office: Senator 18th District 309 J Capitol Building Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-5145

District Office: 10400 South Western Ave. Chicago, IL 60643 (773) 445-8128 **Rep. Ryan Spain Co-Chair (R)** Email: <u>repryanspain@gmail.com</u>

Springfield Office: 314 Capitol Building Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-8108

District Office:

5407 N. University St., Arbor Hall Suite B Peoria, IL 61614 (309) 690-7373

Sen. Christina Castro (D) Email: <u>castro@senatedem.illinois.gov</u>

Springfield Office: Senator 22nd District 121 C Capitol Building Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-7746

District Office: 164 Division Street Suite 102 Elgin, IL 60120 (847) 214-8864 (847) 214-8867 FAX

Sen. Don DeWitte (R)

Email: senator@ddewitte.com

Springfield Office: Senator 33rd District Stratton Office Building Section B, Office G Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-1977

District Office: 641 S. 8th St. West Dundee, IL 60118 (847) 214-8245

Sen. Dale Fowler (R) Email: senatorfowler59@gmail.com

Springfield Office: Senator 59th District Stratton Office Building Section A, Office E Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-5509

District Office: 2 North Vine, Suite 600 Harrisburg, IL 62946 (618) 294-8951 (618) 294-8950 FAX

Sen. Kim Lightford (D)

Email: jscott@senatedem.ilga.gov

Springfield Office: Senator 4th District 309 H Capitol Building Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-8505

District Office: 4415 West Harrison St., Suite 550 Hillside, IL 60162 (708) 632-4500 (708) 632-4515 FAX

Sen. Sue Rezin (R) Email: <u>senatorrezin@gmail.com</u>

Springfield Office: Senator 38th District 108 C Capitol Building Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-3840

District Office: 1802 North Division Street, Suite 314 Morris, IL 60450 (815) 220-8720

Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado (D) Email: <u>Evadina@staterepdelgado.com</u>

Springfield Office: 244-W Stratton Office Building Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-0480

District Office: 6309 W. Belmont Ave. Chicago, IL 60634 (773) 237-4558

Rep. Jackie Haas (R) Email: <u>jlamottehaas@yahoo.com</u>

Springfield Office: 201-N Stratton Office Building Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-5981

District Office: 370 E. Court Street Kankakee, IL 60901 (815) 523-7779 Rep. Steve Reick (R) Email: <u>reick@ilhousegop.org</u>

Springfield Office: 225-N Stratton Office Building Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-1717

District Office: 1072 Lake Avenue Woodstock, IL 60098 (815) 880-5340

Rep. Curtis Tarver (D) Email: <u>office@repcurtisjtarverii.com</u>

Springfield Office: 270-S Stratton Office Building Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-8121

District Office: 1303 E. 53rd St. Chicago, IL 60615 (773) 363-8870

Rep. Dave Vella (D) Email: <u>repdavevella@gmail.com</u>

Springfield Office: 290-S Stratton Office Building Springfield, IL 62706 (217) 782-0455

District Office: 4007 North Mulford Road Loves Park, IL 61111 (815) 329-6741